Celebrating 20 years of Hotel Lindrum
Entering through the imposing front door of Hotel Lindrum is like opening a great novel and eagerly turning its pages to find out what happens next. The hotel story comes
together as a series of enriching and delightful surprises.
Hotel Lindrum officially opened its doors on 12 July 1999 and was one of Melbourne’s first boutique hotels.
The historic building, at which Hotel Lindrum has found a home, has had a colourful history. It was built in 1900 as a store and sales room for well-known Melbourne tea merchants, Griffiths Brothers, before becoming the headquarters for the Herald and Weekly Times newspaper in the 1960s. Throughout the 70s and 80s, the building was known as Lindrum’s Billiard Centre which was named after World Champion Billiard Player, Walter Lindrum.
We are celebrating our milestone with little touches throughout the hotel, from a postcard that features the building as it once was in the early 1900's to a new logo design that we are proud to showcase for the next 12 months of celebrations.
Throughout the last 20 years, we have welcomed guests from all over the globe, and we look forward to welcoming new guests and our return guests for many more years to come.